Dubai…..a few days (Part 1)

 

Dubai-archives-1

 

Back at the start of August I was lucky enough  to have a few days in Dubai as a stopover enroute to Australia. After seeing various photos of the city, especially the Burj Khalifa, I was really looking forward to visiting Dubai for a few days.

After leaving the airport the first thing that hit me was the incredible heat, and this was at 1.30 in the morning!! During the day it was 42 degrees celsius and very humid which made it uncomfortable to be wandering around in the streets. Inside the shopping malls, metro stations etc was nice and cool but as I was there at the hottest time of the year you just had to enjoy it as it was.
To visit during the cooler months would be interesting as there looks like quite a few interesting souks (markets) around. We went to the Gold Souk but probably missed part of it. As I said, with the heat you didn´t feel like wandering around too much as you were sweating all the time.

Well here are a few photos from my few days in Dubai.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I decided not to take my DSLR this time on holiday but instead opted for the amazing Sony NEX-C3. It is so small and lightweight but has the same sized sensor as an APS-C Digital SLR camera like the Canon 60D. I used the Sony 16mm f/2.8 pancake lens as well as two manual focus Olympus OM Zuiko lenses with an adapter. It was really great to travel light and I never wished for my DSLR throughout my time in Dubai and Australia. I will definately be travelling like this again!

Leave a Reply

