Travelling with the Sony Nex……..Part 1.

During August 2012, I decided to leave my DSLR at home for the first time and instead travelled with only the Sony Nex-C3. Normally when I have been abroad I would take a DSLR about 3 lenses in a bagpack. Total weight 2 to 2 1/2 kg of gear excluding battery chargers, tripod, filters etc. Add on top of that a compact camera such as my Panasonic LX-3 and the weight soon adds up. So this time I went light with the Sony Nex, Sony 16mm lens (only 67 grams !!!!!!!) and 2 manual focus OM Zuiko lenses plus adapter. Total weight under 1 kg.  Sometimes I would just go out with the Sony Nex and 16mm lens which at around 300-350  grams it was wonderful. Some people have complained about the quality of their 16mm pancake lens but I had no problems what so ever. It was great to just slip it into my jacket pocket and go into the city without having to worry about the weight. In a previous Blog about my time in Dubai I found it such a relief especially in the 40c+ degree heat. In Melbourne, Australia it was winter so I didn´t have the weight to worry about. The great thing is that the Sony Nex was very inconspicuous so nobody really paid any notice to it.
IMAGE QUALITY

The Sony Nex showed very high Image Quality and the images were easy to process in Lightroom. For A3 sized prints it is more than capable. It is quite an amazing little camera that holds a lot of detail and versatility in such a small package. I preferred to shoot in Aperture or manual mode and always used RAW files. One thing that I would have liked is to have a remote control and iso 100 but the Nex-C3 doesn´t offer these. A Nex-5n would have been great but it was over twice the price at the time I bought the C3 so that was out of the question. Here is an example of what the Nex-C3 is capable of.

Remember that these images have been reduced for WEB viewing. The prints display a lot more detail and sharpness.

The tilt screen was a great feature and one that I really enjoyed using as there were times I took some photos from low angles and using my Canon 500D or 1Ds mark 2 I would have got very wet and a very sore back/neck.:(

The 16mm lens (24mm equivalent) was great as it enabled a little more image to be in the frame. I would have liked to try out the wide-angle and fisheye adapters but couldn´t at the time. Maybe in the future????

Another image from around Melbourne with the 16mm f/2.8 lens at f/8 I think?

Both the photos in this Blog entry were taken using a tripod. The SLIK Sprint Mini II which I can highly recommend.

I will try to write a little about it in the following Blog as well as post a few more photos whilst travelling with the Sony Nex.

2 thoughts on “Travelling with the Sony Nex……..Part 1.

  1. Awesome photos and great blog. I will be travelling soon myself and I’m looking for the best camera I can take with me. Have tried three different models of compact superzoom point & shoots from Canon (SX260), Panasonic (ZS20) and my current one the Sony (HX30V). I’m at $300 spent. For $50 more I can get a Panasonic GF3, or Sony Nex C3, I also looked at an in between, in the Panasonic LX-5.

    Being that you have an LX3 and the Nex, where do you stand or can give me some advice for the best camera for traveling?

    • Hi Raul. If I had to choose between the LX3 or the Sony Nex I would choose the Sony because it offers better image quality and the option to use a variety of lenses. You do have to factor in the cost of lenses but you have the option of using older manual lenses as well with an adapter. If you want to print up to A3 size the LX·5 would be fine as I have had A3 prints from my LX-3 that were great. I took it to Barcelona and enjoyed its small size, stealthiness and quality. The zoom range is a bit limited but I don´t do much tele-photo work.
      I´m not sure where you are going or for how long etc but if you give me a bit more information maybe I could make a suggestion. I´ve been using the Sony Nex-C3 quite a lot now and I am really enjoying it so for me it is a great travel camera for my style of shooting. Like I said though, adding lenses does add cost and bulk although nowhere near as much as a DSLR. All the best, Evan

Leave a Reply

