Using ND filters with the Sony VCL-ECU1

I have been asked a few times how I am able to use ND Filters on the Sony Wide angle converter lens VCL-ECU1 so I have taken a few photos of the set-up to show how it works.

You will need:

A 67mm metal ring adapter for Cokin P series Filter Holder

A filter holder for Cokin P series filters. ( make sure it is one that can fit up to 3 filters, you only use 1)

Sony 16mm f/2.8 lens and the Sony VCL-ECU1 wide angle converter

A few photos of the set-up on the camera……….

NDFilter_2

NDFilter_3

NDFilter_4

NDFilter_5

 

 

 

 

* Make sure you get the 67mm filter ring as you need a tight fit. You have to push it up to the black lens shade part of the VCL-ECU1.

* After that you have space to slide the ND Filter in.

* It works best in Landscape format but when I use it in portrait format I have to shade the top of the filter to stop light entering into the frame. I just use the filter pocket my ND Filter comes in but you can use your hand too.

Of course I would like a Sony 10-18mm whereby I could use a variety of filters but maybe one day:)

This set-up works very well and I always use it for my landscape/seascape images. Any questions/comments feel free to ask.

2 thoughts on “Using ND filters with the Sony VCL-ECU1

  1. Thank you for this post! I just bought my wide converter and want to do landscape photos. Are you using variety of ND shades or is there some specific like nd16 nd1000 that you like to use?

    • Hi Maria, I normally use ND Grad filters such as the 0.9 ND soft Grad. I have a set of 3 filters 0.3, 0.6 and 0.9 called the HIGHTECH85 Filter system. Normally I just use one at a time but sometimes I have used two together depending on the scene.

Leave a Reply

